[Nfbnet-members-list] Legislative Alert: 03/24/2021

Pare, John JPare at nfb.org
Wed Mar 24 13:37:31 UTC 2021

Dear Federation Family:

We are making great progress building cosponsor support for the Access Technology Affordability Act in both the House and the Senate. We are up to 66 cosponsors on H.R. 431 and 13 on S. 212. A full list of current cosponsors will be included at the end of this email. We are hoping this bill will be included in one of the upcoming large legislative packages. The more cosponsors we have the more likely this is to occur.

Both the House and Senate will be in recess the week of March 29 and the week of April 5; however, the staff is still in Washington, DC. Let’s work especially hard to get as many cosponsors as possible before Congress comes back in session the week of April 12.

When you call or email, you might say the following:

"Hello, my name is [YOUR NAME], and I am a constituent of [REPRESENTATIVE/SENATOR NAME]. I live in [CITY, STATE]. I would like to urge [REPRESENTATIVE/SENATOR NAME] to cosponsor the Access Technology Affordability Act [H.R. 431 in the House/S. 212 in the Senate]. This legislation removes an employment barrier commonly experienced by blind Americans who cannot afford the high cost of access technology by creating a refundable tax credit in the amount of $2,000 to offset the cost of this technology.


You can contact your member of Congress by calling the Capitol Switchboard and asking for the office in question. The number is 202-224-3121. If you email your representative or senators, please copy John Pare at jkaloc at nfb.org<mailto:jkaloc at nfb.org>. Your calls and emails do make a difference.

It is best to call or email the relevant tax staffer in your member of Congress's office. If you need the name and email of the appropriate staff person for any Senate or House office, please email Jesa Medders at jmedders at nfb.org<mailto:jmedders at nfb.org>.

Thank you for all that you do,

John G. Paré Jr.
Executive Director for Advocacy and Policy
National Federation of the Blind

H.R. 431 Cosponsors
Rep. Sewell, Terri A. [D-AL-7]
Rep. Young, Don [R-AK-At Large]
Rep. Schweikert, David [R-AZ-6]
Rep. Crawford, Eric A. "Rick" [R-AR-1]
Rep. Eshoo, Anna G. [D-CA-18]
Rep. Panetta, Jimmy [D-CA-20]
Rep. Crow, Jason [D-CO-6]
Rep. DeGette, Diana [D-CO-1]
Rep. Neguse, Joe [D-CO-2]
Rep. Larson, John B. [D-CT-1]
Rep. Blunt Rochester, Lisa [D-DE-At Large]
Rep. Bilirakis, Gus M. [R-FL-12]
Rep. Hastings, Alcee L. [D-FL-20]
Rep. Murphy, Stephanie N. [D-FL-7]
Rep. Posey, Bill [R-FL-8]
Rep. Rutherford, John H. [R-FL-4]
Rep. Salazar, Maria Elvira [R-FL-27]
Rep. Bishop, Sanford D., Jr. [D-GA-2]
Rep. Bost, Mike [R-IL-12]
Rep. Davis, Rodney [R-IL-13]
Rep. Garcia, Jesus G. "Chuy" [D-IL-4]
Rep. Krishnamoorthi, Raja [D-IL-8]
Rep. Rush, Bobby L. [D-IL-1]
Rep. Schakowsky, Janice D. [D-IL-9]
Rep. Schneider, Bradley Scott [D-IL-10]
Rep. Underwood, Lauren [D-IL-14]
Rep. Axne, Cynthia [D-IA-3]
Rep. Yarmuth, John A. [D-KY-3]
Rep. Ruppersberger, C. A. Dutch [D-MD-2]
Rep. Sarbanes, John P. [D-MD-3]
Rep. Trone, David J. [D-MD-6]
Rep. Trahan, Lori [D-MA-3]
Rep. Moolenaar, John R. [R-MI-4]
Rep. Stevens, Haley M. [D-MI-11]
Rep. Tlaib, Rashida [D-MI-13]
Rep. Craig, Angie [D-MN-2]
Rep. McCollum, Betty [D-MN-4]
Rep. Stauber, Pete [R-MN-8]
Rep. Guest, Michael [R-MS-3]
Rep. Luetkemeyer, Blaine [R-MO-3]
Rep. Pascrell, Bill, Jr. [D-NJ-9]
Rep. Sires, Albio [D-NJ-8]
Rep. Smith, Christopher H. [R-NJ-4]
Rep. Van Drew, Jefferson [R-NJ-2]
Rep. Suozzi, Thomas R. [D-NY-3]
Rep. Adams, Alma S. [D-NC-12]
Rep. Manning, Kathy E. [D-NC-6]
Rep. Cole, Tom [R-OK-4]
Rep. Boyle, Brendan F. [D-PA-2]
Rep. Evans, Dwight [D-PA-3]
Rep. Fitzpatrick, Brian K. [R-PA-1]
Rep. Kelly, Mike [R-PA-16]
Rep. Reschenthaler, Guy [R-PA-14]
Rep. Thompson, Glenn [R-PA-15]
Rep. Burchett, Tim [R-TN-2]
Rep. Cohen, Steve [D-TN-9]
Rep. Gohmert, Louie [R-TX-1]
Rep. Moore, Blake D. [R-UT-1]
Rep. Owens, Burgess [R-UT-4]
Rep. Stewart, Chris [R-UT-2]
Rep. Plaskett, Stacey E. [D-VI-At Large]
Rep. Beyer, Donald S., Jr. [D-VA-8]
Rep. Wittman, Robert J. [R-VA-1]
Rep. DelBene, Suzan K. [D-WA-1]
Rep. Herrera Beutler, Jaime [R-WA-3]
Rep. McMorris Rodgers, Cathy [R-WA-5]

S. 212 Cosponsors
Sen. Murkowski, Lisa [R-AK]
Sen. Boozman, John [R-AR]
Sen. Van Hollen, Chris [D-MD]
Sen. Smith, Tina [D-MN]
Sen. Blunt, Roy [R-MO]
Sen. Tester, Jon [D-MT]
Sen. Shaheen, Jeanne [D-NH]
Sen. Burr, Richard [R-NC]
Sen. Brown, Sherrod [D-OH]
Sen. Wyden, Ron [D-OR]
Sen. Casey, Robert P., Jr. [D-PA]
Sen. Murray, Patty [D-WA]
Sen. Capito, Shelley Moore [R-WV]


The information contained in this communication from the sender is confidential. It is intended solely for use by the recipient and others authorized to receive it. If you are not the recipient, you are hereby notified that any disclosure, copying, distribution or taking action in relation of the contents of this information is strictly prohibited and may be unlawful.

This email has been scanned for viruses and malware, and may have been automatically archived by Mimecast Ltd, an innovator in Software as a Service (SaaS) for business. Providing a safer and more useful place for your human generated data. Specializing in; Security, archiving and compliance. To find out more visit the Mimecast website.
-------------- next part --------------
An HTML attachment was scrubbed...
URL: <http://nfbnet.org/pipermail/nfbnet-members-list_nfbnet.org/attachments/20210324/e9043163/attachment.html>

More information about the NFBNet-Members-List mailing list