[Nfbnet-members-list] 2015 Scholarship Winners

Wichmann, Jessica jwichmann at nfb.org
Mon May 11 20:29:22 UTC 2015


Chris Danielsen
Director of Public Relations
National Federation of the Blind
(410) 659-9314, extension 2330
(410) 262-1281 (Cell)
<mailto:cdanielsen at nfb.org>cdanielsen at nfb.org

National Federation of the Blind Announces
2015 Scholarship Program Finalists
Baltimore, Maryland (May 11, 2015): The 
<http://www.nfb.org/>National Federation of the 
Blind (NFB), the nation’s oldest and largest 
organization of blind people, today announced the 
finalists for its 2015 Scholarship Program, which 
awards thirty scholarships each year to recognize 
achievement by blind scholars. The students are 
listed below in alphabetical order with their 
home states and vocational goals.
    * Katie Adkins, KY:  Teacher
    * Douglas Alt, MI: College professor
    * Karen Arcos, CA: Policy advocacy
    * Annika Ariel, CA: Disability law
    * Liliya Asadullina, PA: Naturopathic doctor
    * Michael Ausbun, NV: Foundational professor
    * Brianna Brown, TX: Education
    * Mary Church, CA: Psychology
    * Chase Crispin, NE: Public school band director
    * MarChé Daughtry, VA: Law
    * Bryan Duarte, AZ: Software engineer
    * Alexandra Engraf, ND: Human services, counseling
    * Lashawna Fant, MS: Counselor
    * Robert Gulledge, AL: Secondary education
    * Dezman Jackson, MD: Health education
    * Mary Abby Jusayan, RI: Teacher for visually impaired
    * Kaitlyn Kellermeyer, TX: Government service or investing
    * Miriam Lozneanu, SC: Programmer
    * Nefertiti Matos, NY: Helping/teaching profession
    * Sarah Myer, FL: Mental health counseling
    * Mark Myers II, MO: Computer and software design/development
    * Crystal Plemmons, NC: Community college instructor
    * Jason Polansky, MD: Youth ministry, counseling, or civil engineering
    * Karolline Sales, LA: Braille teacher
    * Kaitlin Shelton, OH: Music therapy
    * Christopher Stewart, KY: Legal field
    * Teri Stroschein, OR: School counselor
    * Kelsi Watters, WI: Spiritual counseling
    * Hannah Werbel, WA: Biomedical engineering
    * Tamika Williams, AL: Blind services/entrepreneurship/social services

“The scholarship program is one of our most 
important initiatives,” said Mark A. Riccobono, 
President of 
<http://www.twitter.com/NFB_voice>the National 
Federation of the Blind. “We are proud to honor 
these blind scholars, who are studying everything 
from electrical engineering to horticulture, and 
in so doing raising the expectations of what 
blind people can achieve. Their accomplishments 
are proof of our conviction that we, the blind of 
this nation, can live the lives we want; blindness does not hold us back.”

In July each finalist will attend the NFB’s 
seventy-fifth annual 
convention in Orlando, Florida, where the 
Scholarship Committee will spend several days 
getting to know each student and then decide 
which scholarship (ranging in value from $3,000 
to $12,000) to award each of them. The 
scholarship winners will then be announced at the 
banquet of the NFB convention on Friday, July 10.

For more information on the National Federation 
of the Blind Scholarship Program, visit 


About the National Federation of the Blind

The National Federation of the Blind knows that 
blindness is not the characteristic that defines 
you or your future. Every day we raise the 
expectations of blind people, because low 
expectations create obstacles between blind 
people and our dreams. You can live the life you 
want; blindness is not what holds you back.

-------------- next part --------------
An HTML attachment was scrubbed...
URL: <http://nfbnet.org/pipermail/nfbnet-members-list_nfbnet.org/attachments/20150511/3ae5b68a/attachment.html>

More information about the NFBNet-Members-List mailing list