[Nfbnet-members-list] National Federation of the Blind Announces 2013 Scholarship Program Winners

Freeh, Jessica JFreeh at nfb.org
Wed May 8 06:16:50 UTC 2013


Chris Danielsen
Director of Public Relations
National Federation of the Blind
(410) 659-9314, extension 2330
(410) 262-1281 (Cell)
<mailto:cdanielsen at nfb.org>cdanielsen at nfb.org

National Federation of the Blind Announces
2013 Scholarship Program Winners

Baltimore, Maryland (May 7, 2013): The 
<http://www.nfb.org/>National Federation of the 
Blind (NFB), the nation’s oldest and largest 
organization of blind people, today announced the 
winners of its 
Scholarship Program, which awards thirty 
scholarships each year to recognize achievement 
by blind scholars.  The winners are listed below 
in alphabetical order with their home states and vocational goals:

·         Conrad Austen, MD: History professor and disability historian
·         Cody Bair, CO: Tax accountant (CPA)
·         Riki Burton, KY: Teacher of the blind and visually impaired
·         Mark Colasurdo, NJ: Doctor and research 
scientist in biological engineering
·         Angela Dehart, KY: Elementary special 
education teacher (including severe disabilities)
·         Stephanie DeLuca, TN: Structural 
biology scientist with focus on biomolecules
·         Meg Dowell, IL: Dietetic nutritionist, researcher, and journalist
·         Albert Elia, MA:  Lawyer - high tech 
disability and intellectual property law
·         Molly Faerber, RI: Fiction author, writing instructor, publisher
·         Kristin Fleschner, MA: Lawyer, federal government analyst
·         Juna Gjata, MA: Undecided – considering journalist
·         Fredrick Hardyway, KS: University professor of world history
·         Natasha Hubbard, VA: Social worker, 
professional counselor, and life coach
·         Edgar Johnson, SC: High school history teacher
·         Tyler Kavanaugh, KS: Software developer of accessible appliances
·         Mi So Kwak, CA: High school teacher/college professor
·         Domonique Lawless, LA: Cane travel 
(O&M) instructor of blind students
·         Alex Loch, MN: Physical therapist
·         Brooke Lovell, UT: Marriage and family therapist
·         Julie McGinnity, MO: Professor of voice and performer
·         Mona Minkara, FL: University 
professor/researcher in quantum chemistry
·         Disa Muse, OK: Adult education instructor, disability advocate
·         Treva Olivero, LA:  Teacher of blind students, K-12
·         Steven Phelps, UT: Licensed social 
worker, administrator, and advocate
·         Kaitlin Shelton, OH: Board-certified music therapist
·         Jermaine Siqueiros-Ramirez, CA: 
Vocational rehabilitation counselor, rehabilitation psychologist
·         Ivy Wanta, NY: Scientific researcher, possibly in physics
·         Kathryn Cornell Webster, CT: Actuarial 
scientist and motivational speaker
·         Matthew Yeater, IN: Professor of theology and evangelist
·         Stephanie Zundel, NJ: Speech pathologist in a hospital setting

“These students represent academic excellence, 
and many of them are doubtless future leaders of 
this nation’s blind,” said Dr. Marc Maurer, 
president of 
<http://www.twitter.com/NFB_voice>the National 
Federation of the Blind.  “They are forging a 
path in disciplines as varied as engineering, 
theology, special education, law, and 
psychiatry.  They are proof of our conviction 
that we, the blind of this nation, can compete on 
terms of equality with our sighted peers, and we 
are very proud of their accomplishments.”

In July each winner will attend the NFB’s 
seventy-third annual 
convention in Orlando, Florida, where the 
Scholarship Committee will spend several days 
getting to know each student and then decide 
which scholarship (ranging in value from $3,000 
to $12,000) to award each of them.  The 
scholarship winners will then be announced at the 
banquet of the NFB convention on Saturday, July 6.

For more information on the National Federation 
of the Blind Scholarship Program, visit 


About the National Federation of the Blind

The National Federation of the Blind (NFB) is the 
oldest, largest, and most influential nationwide 
membership organization of blind people in the 
United States.  Founded in 1940, the NFB 
advocates for the civil rights and equality of 
blind Americans, and develops innovative 
education, technology, and training programs to 
provide the blind and those who are losing vision 
with the tools they need to become independent 
and successful.  We need your support.  To make a 
donation, please go to <http://www.nfb.org/>www.nfb.org.

-------------- next part --------------
An HTML attachment was scrubbed...
URL: <http://nfbnet.org/pipermail/nfbnet-members-list_nfbnet.org/attachments/20130508/e3f643c2/attachment.html>

More information about the NFBNet-Members-List mailing list