[Blindtlk] New Virous Alert
Ray Foret jr
rforetjr at comcast.net
Mon Apr 14 19:20:05 CDT 2008
This is a hoax. I mean it's so obviously a hoax. I'm surprised you fell
for this one. In the first place, Gloria, Microsoft DOES, NOT, issue virus
alerts. In the second place, the name of the antivirus company supposedly
quoted here is not Norton. That's just the name of the antivirus program
itself. The name of the actual company which makes Norton is called
Symantec. There's another thing which makes this so obviously a hoax. The
admonition to all recipients of the message to "send this to everybody on
your address book". I can't tell you how many times I've seen people fall
for such an obvious hoax like this!!!! These are just some of the things
which give this one away. Hoaxes do nearly just as much harm as any virus
itself. I can't believe people ar still falling for such an obvious
deception as this.
----- Original Message -----
From: "Gloria Whipple" <fairyfoot at dc4pc.net>
To: "'NFBnet Blind Talk Mailing List'" <blindtlk at nfbnet.org>; "'NFB of
Washington Talk Mailing List'" <nfbwatlk at nfbnet.org>; "'SHELLIE WHIPPLE'"
<shillelaghshibboleth at msn.com>; <karenjeanhood at hotmail.com>; "'Debbie
Baril'" <DebbieB at community-minded.org>
Sent: Monday, April 14, 2008 6:36 PM
Subject: [Blindtlk] New Virous Alert
Hello,
Below I coppied and pasted this virous alert message that was sent to me.
This information arrived this morning, Direct from both Microsoft and
Norton.
Please send it to everybody you know who has access t o the Internet.
You may receive an apparently harmless e-mail titled "Mail Server Report"
If you open either file, a message will appear on your screen saying:
'It is too late now, your life is no longer beautiful.'
Subsequently you will LOSE EVERYTHING IN YOUR PC, And the person who
sent it to you will gain access to your name, e-mai l and password.
This is a new virus which started to circulate on Saturday afternoon.
AOL has already confirmed the severity, and the anti virus software's
are not capable of destroying it.
The virus has been created by a hacker who calls himself 'life owner'.
PLEASE SEND A COPY OF THIS E-MAIL TO ALL YOUR FRIENDS, and ask them to
PASS IT ON IMMEDIATELY!
THIS HAS BEEN CONFIRMED BY SNOPES (HYPERLINK
"blocked::http://www.snopes.com/computer/virus/mailserver.asp"
\nhttp://www.snopes.com/computer/virus/mailserver.asp
Gloria Whipple
Corresponding Secretary
Inland Empire chapter
nfb of WA
No virus found in this outgoing message.
Checked by AVG.
Version: 7.5.519 / Virus Database: 269.22.13/1377 - Release Date: 4/14/2008
9:26 AM
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
_______________________________________________
blindtlk mailing list
blindtlk at nfbnet.org
http://www.nfbnet.org/mailman/listinfo/blindtlk
More information about the blindtlk
mailing list